State of California — Health and Human Services Agency

Department of Health Care Services

Acceptable Citizenship and ldentity Documents

A new law says most Medi-Cal applicants and beneficiaries who are U.S. citizens or nationals must show proof of citizenship
and proof of identity. We can only accept documents that are listed below. If you do not have the original document, you must
get a certified copy from the issuing agency. Photocopies cannot be accepted.

The easiest way for U.S. citizens or nationals to prove citizenship and identity is with one of these documents:
— U.S. Passport issued without limitation (expired ones are acceptable)

— Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570)
— Certificate of U.S. Citizenship (N-560 or N-561)

—-OR-

If you do not have one of the documents above, provide...

One citizenship document listed below:

++ U.S. Birth Certificate

+» Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350)

+¢+ Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen (FS-240)

+» State Department Certification of Birth (FS-545 or DS-1350)
++ U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179)

+» American Indian Card (I-872)

+¢ Northern Marianas Card (I-873)

++ Final adoption decree showing a U.S. place of birth

++ Proof of adoption of a child born outside U.S. and in the
legal/physical custody of the U.S. citizen parent (IR-3 or IR-4)

«» Proof of U.S. civil service employment before June 1, 1976
++ U.S. military service record showing a U.S. place of birth
++ U.S. hospital record made at the time of birth "

«¢ Life, health, or other insurance record *

+ Religious record recorded in the U.S. within 3 months of
birth showing U.S. place of birth and birth date or age

«¢ Early school record showing a U.S. place of birth, date of
admission, birth date, names and places of birth of parents

Federal or State census record that shows the applicant’s
age and U.S. citizenship or place of birth

Seneca Indian tribal census record * 1
Bureau of Indian Affairs Navajo Indians tribal census record *
U.S. State Vital Statistics birth registration notification * f

A delayed U.S. public birth record that was recorded more
than 5 years after the person’s birth **

Statement signed by doctor or midwife present at the birth * *
Roll of Alaska Natives from the Bureau of Indian Affairs *

Admission papers from a nursing or skilled care facility, or
other institution that shows a U.S. place of birth *

Medical record (not an immunization record) *

* Must be dated at least 5 years before your 1st Medi-Cal application and
show a U.S. place of birth.
t For children under 16, must be created near the time of birth.

You must provide a document as high up on the list as you can.

If you cannot provide any of these citizenship documents...

Ask two adults to fill out and sign an Affidavit of Citizenship. Both
adults must have proof of their own identity and U.S. citizenship,
and only one of them may be related to you.

— AND —

One identity document listed below:

«» Driver's license issued by a U.S. State or Territory with a
photograph or other identifying information

++ School Identification card with a photograph
+« U.S. Military I.D. card or draft record

+ Federal, state or local government I.D. card with same
identifying information as a driver’s license
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U.S. Military dependent identification card
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A U.S. passport (issued with limitation)

«+ Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood or other
U.S. American Indian/Alaska Native Tribal document

U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Card

0.0
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«+ Three or more confirming documents, such as employee ID
cards, high school or college diplomas, marriage licenses,
divorce decrees, and property deedstitles

++ Clinic, doctor, or hospital records for a child under 16

«¢+ School, nursery school, or daycare records, including
report cards, for a child under 16. The county will verify
with the school.

+¢+ For people with disabilities who live in a residential care
facility, an Affidavit signed by the facility's director
or administrator
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For a child under 16 who did not provide an Affidavit of
Citizenship, you may submit:

«+ An Affidavit of the child’s identity signed by the child's
parent, guardian, or caretaker relative with date and place
of birth

++ A Medi-Cal application or the Healthy Families/Medi-Cal
joint application that shows the child’s date and place of
birth, and is signed by the child’s parent, guardian, or
caretaker relative.

For a child under 18, an Affidavit of the child’s identity signed
by the child’s parent, guardian, or caretaker relative may be
used if school ID cards or driver licenses are not available.

Note: Expired identity documents are acceptable proof of identity.
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